letterkenny county museum

Letterkenny Union and Workhouse Digital Records

Letterkenny Union and Workhouse Digital Records

[mashshare]

We are pleased to announce that through funding from the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, we have been able to digitise records relating to Letterkenny Union and Workhouse.

In order to enable full access to the records and to ensure the continued preservation of the original archives, the Museum and Archives Service have digitised a selection of the records and made them available for viewing in the Museum. These records include:

  • Minutes of the meetings of the Board of Guardians of Letterkenny Union, 1841 – 1923;
  • the Registers of persons admitted to and discharged from Letterkenny workhouse 1855 – 1864; 1869 – 1899; 1864 – 1878;
  • the Indoor Relief Register 1910 – 1915;
  • the Record of Deaths 1910 – 1922.

The original archives are in the care of the Archives Service, Donegal County Council. In order to enable full access to the records and to ensure the continued preservation of the original archives, the Museum and Archives Service have digitised a selection of the records and made them available for viewing in the Museum.

It is rare that so many records have survived relating to the Workhouses and these archives provide a unique opportunity to gain a fascinating insight into the social history of the period.

Donegal County Museum is based in the Entrance Block of the Letterkenny Workhouse, which opened in 1845.

The Workhouse was demolished in the 1980’s and the County Museum is the only remaining building.

 

Donegal County Museum

 

Letterkenny Workhouse